Find Time to Write!

Standard

I love cuddling up in my favorite chair to write. It’s a brown velvet swivel rocker that I’ve had for more than five years now. A cup of coffee or some snacks help. I usually leave TV on too. The news, a movie, or something mysterious always capture my attention unless I’m bored. Shopping can be done later. Checking on relatives and friends can’t be overlooked. Exercise and going somewhere are necessary. But I don’t socialize much. My parents were outgoing. My father loved watching baseball (he played minor league when young). As a child, I went to ball games with my father. It was fun. He would have loved Fifth Third Field in Toledo, Ohio but it was built long after he passed away. My mother was active in church affairs. She wouldn’t hesitate to help anyone. I believe in God and I do attend church. Unfortunately, my parents are both gone. My sisters socialize a lot especially the oldest one. But I’ve always been the quiet one and the baby of the family. They say the youngest ones are spoiled. Well, not all the time.

Anyhow, we all have favorite things to do while writing. Sometimes, it’s not possible to sit down and write. We’re on another job or out somewhere when it’s impossible to even jot a line down.

I was thinking about a new fiction story when one line came to mind, but I didn’t write it down and guess what? I forgot what it was. Anyhow, I do remember some of the words (you know writers guard everything). We’re particular about who edits our work. But being obsessed can take a toll till nothing gets done. Some writers are afraid that someone will steal their work. Check the markets, ask questions. Most of us have had those fears at one time or another, but don’t let what could become the biggest achievement that you’ve ever made go to waste.

Leave a Reply

