A Windows flaw and other things

Standard

Three weeks ago on my blog A new path, I said that I won’t blog about my opinions anymore. But we have so many important issues that a writer like myself can’t ignore. My work is primarily fiction stories and poetry. I do have a degree in journalism, but that field includes all aspects of writing, not just articles. So it isn’t necessary for me to focus only on the mechanics of fiction stories and poetry. I’ll continue to write about any issue that most of us care about and that includes fiction stories and poetry.

Now I want to bring up this ”computers under attack” problem. Update your computers. You don’t have to click on a link to get infected. Now, you know that’s dangerous. And it’s still spreading. It looks for personal files and encrypts them. Most banks and other companies update regularly.

It takes advantage of a Windows flaw discovered by the NSA and made public by hackers in April. Microsoft released a patch in March. So, if you still haven’t updated your computer then you’re at risk. The malicious software takes over a computer and locks the user out, preventing them from accessing any files until they pay money. It’s expected to be one of the biggest ransomware attacks ever.

Tens of thousands of infected computers in 100 countries are at risk. Don’t waste time. Please backup your files. That is so important.

Some of this information came from Heather Kelly on CNN.

Leave a Reply

