So deliciously tempting

Standard

I have never gone to a food blog and didn’t find something good. Oh, my God! And the pictures only make it that more appetizing. Especially desserts. Don’t you know what that does to someone who’s trying to lose weight? You make it harder if not downright impossible. So I’m going to advise anyone who wants to lose weight, don’t go to any food blogs. All those cake and pie desserts with topping. Yum, yummy. But I’m not going to name one blog because you know who you are.

Now I bake a delicious lemon cake that requires only one egg. In fact, it’s called  ”one-egg cake.” You can add vanilla, lemon or another extract. My favorite is lemon. I put all the ingredients in a loaf pan because I want it to come out that way. I rarely bake cakes using round pans because I prefer a loaf pan. I know some of you add sugar substitutes because of sugar problems. Honey can be used, it just depends on the dessert.

I have two recipe books called Soul Food by Joyce White and The Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Rombauer and Marion Rombauer Becker. Many of you are more familiar with the last one. But I found out something on how to make glazed sweet potatoes. First you peel, slice, and rinse about 8 small sweet potatoes. Then you add 1/2 cup of dark brown and white sugar. About a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg (I use both). About a teaspoon of allspice. I really use more of the spices because they smell and taste so good. Add 4 tablespoons of butter and a cup of water.

Now I know what some of you cooks are saying, don’t add water because it makes its own juice. But a little water won’t hurt just make sure that you don’t add too much. Make sure you slice the sweet potatoes crosswise thin. Bake them in a 2-quart casserole dish. Heat at 300 degrees in about 20 minutes. They should be glazed, thick, and delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

